List of severity levels in Syslog

In Syslog each message is labeled with a facility code, indicating the software type generating the message, and assigned a severity level

Below is list of severity levels. For list of Facility codes go to List of Facility codes in Syslog

Value Severity Keyword Deprecated keywords Description Condition
0 Emergency emerg panic System is unusable A panic condition
1 Alert alert Action must be taken immediately A condition that should be corrected immediately, such as a corrupted system database
2 Critical crit Critical conditions Hard device errors
3 Error err error Error conditions
4 Warning warning warn Warning conditions
5 Notice notice Normal but significant conditions Conditions that are not error conditions, but that may require special handling
6 Informational info Informational messages
7 Debug debug Debug-level messages Messages that contain information normally of use only when debugging a program